About Me

Personal Description

I am a very friendly and approachable French tutor who lives in Addingham, a small village which lies between Skipton and Ilkley.  My love of the French language and culture started when I went on my first exchange to the Bordeaux region at the age of 13 and has continued ever since.  I studied French to degree level and achieved a BA(Hons) in Modern Languages.  My knowledge of the French language was very much helped by working and living in the French-speaking part of Belgium for 3 years.

Teaching Experience

During my degree course I spent 6 months working at a technical college in Quimper, Brittany as a teaching assistant.  In 2005 when my youngest child went to school I took a teaching qualification and started teaching French for Craven College.  Since then I have been working as a private French tutor and have taught adults and children of all ages and at all levels, including GCSE and A-Level.  I currently teach individuals, couples and groups of up to 5 people on a weekly basis.

Tutoring Approach

My years of experience have taught me how to quickly assess a pupil’s strengths and weaknesses, this being particularly important for GCSE and A level.  Each pupil learns in a different way and I like to provide a friendly, relaxed learning atmosphere which allows pupils not to be afraid to ask questions – this often being the problem when learning at school or in a large group.  Individual tuition allows me to tailor each class to the exact needs of the pupil, building confidence in written and oral French.